Sunday, 28 October 2012

How is this my business? Ask me!

 

I came across this  -River State Governor acquires $45 million Bombardier jet

This one no be story story o, the River State commissioner for information, Mrs. Ibim Semenitari, has confirmed the purchase. The state bought a brand new $45million Bombardier Global 5000 (N565RS) jet for Governor Chibuike Amaechi.

According to the commissioner, the jet was paid for two years ago, and they bought it for 'safety reasons'. She said the governor consulted the Rivers state House of Assembly and they approved the purchase.

SaharaReporters reported that the jet was primarily purchased from Bombardier in Canada for $45.7 million through the Bank of Utah Trustee account, and was delivered to the state government on October 7th 2012.

Meanwhile, the Rivers state commissioner said the old aircraft, an Embraer Legacy 600, will be sold-
yesterday on Linda Ikeji’s blog and it got me thinking. Not that it concerns me, but I can’t help wondering if buying that jet is absolutely the most important thing for that government at this time or if its even necessary. Am not from Rivers state and I don’t reside there, but I am a Nigerian and I know fully well that purchasing a jet is not exactly the most important thing for a government to do now. I mean, I look around, and I see severe poverty, youth unemployment and restiveness, lack of good roads and decent health care facilities etc, and am thinking, the least any government in Nigeria should be thinking about is purchasing a jet for whatever reason. Anyways, that isn’t the thought on my mind right now. After reading about that, I thought to myself, now, other state governors will follow suit; sinking millions of dollars into purchasing jets,( for safety reasons or whatever) that is, if the Rivers state government isn’t following the steps of some other  State government… This unreasonable spending of tax payers monies, reminds me of where I live, a state where local government employees haven’t been paid  been on strike for close to six months (or more, or less, am not sure) and yet the government is comfortably financing the construction of a multimillion naira office complex for the special advisers to the governor. Anytime I pass that building, I feel pain. I feel pain for myself and  for my people. I feel pain for my generation and pity for the generation behind and the one behind and the ones unborn… Hahahaha! Can you imagine? As I was typing the word generation, something in my demented mind, asked if my father can talk about his generation, talk less of me, a 24year old child. That thing also said to me, don’t even talk about generation, because, there is no such thing in your country.  They say ‘children are the leaders of tomorrow’ but the children of your father’s time are still waiting for their tomorrow, talk less you and your generation, hmm! Me ehn, I can think nonsense… That’s just an aside anyway. My landlord’s wife is a local government primary school teacher in the State I live, and for months, I have lost count, she hasn’t being to work. Why? Cause for all that time, the primary schools have been on strike and still are. Is that a joke or something? No, it isn’t, it is the ridiculous truth, yet,( children are the leaders of tomorrow, how na?) the government in my state is building a new unnecessary government house, and office complex for special advisers to the government. (Don’t get me wrong, the government is very well trying, thank you.) Like I said earlier, these things are not my business, but hey I can’t help noticing, and thinking about them and talking about them, only must times, when  I do talk about them with friends, they see my point, but can’t understand why its my business. They give me a look to confirm what I already know, am crazy. .. as I share it here, am not sure am going to get any response but am sure nobody is going to give me that#youarecrazykindalook#. Here, it’s just cold, lifeless letters, staring back at me and I can handle that.

Saturday, 27 October 2012

Dairy of her Full-lish Life. 23/01/2012

The bikeman was riding very fast, so fast i could not even take note of the type of cars we overtook. I know over speeding like that  is dangerous and i should stop him, but hell no! i couldn't have. I wanted to get to his house within a split second. Its been four weeks since i have been asking to come visit and his been giving one excuse or another.

He says there is no problem but i know some thing is so wrong. He has been sounding cold whenever he calls and wouldnot even laugh with me. Yes. i know we had an argument sometime back but i have since apologized. Not once, not twice. I have told him how sorry i was to start up that argument in the first place and he said it's ok. But he wouldnt let me see him, he wouldnt visit me either...
He asked me to come today. I was so excited i couldn't caution the bike man, it was as if, the man knew how bad i wanted to get there.
He was acting up when i got there. He wore a straight face, refused to talk and totally ignored me. I was too excited to let that get at me. I tried to get him notice me, or at least pretend to, but he wouldn't bulge.I decided to let him be, sitting down close to him and holding his hand was enough for me. I had missed him badly and was contend with just sitting, watching and waiting. I just kept saying to myself, very soon, evrything will be fine.
After a while, he started talking and before long, he was even laughing with me. I was happy beyond measure and in my typical curious manner, i asked him what i had done to make him act up the way he did for weeks.
"You are happy today, am not telling you now" he said.
Immediately he said that, i knew my fear had come to pass.
I started persuading him to tell me what was wrong, "Am strong enough, just tell me now please". He looked at me and shook his head and said no. I was not about to leave without hearing what he has to tell me when am in a sober mood. I wanted it there and then, so i pleaded and pleaded for him to tell me.
"What if i tell you i have gotten someone i want to marry" he enquired said.
Hmm! in my typical proud manner, i told him its ok not. I acted up too and pretended i wasn't shock or hurt or confused or angry or betrayed or fooled, but i was. I was shaking like jelly inside while i maintained a calm and composed mien... I had put in too much sincere energy, love, trust into this for what, two years, and now this? I know i don't deserve this but this is what i got.
TO BE CONTINUED!